Message from Anchorage – Br-r-r !!!

Yep, it’s pretty cold out there, and even in my condo, I keep a space heater by my side in addition to the central heat.  All the snowbirds are gone, and I’m about to join ’em, as I use my one-way ticket out.  Don’t think it’s always like this here.  It is still beautiful outside as the sun is shining, and it’s clear and beautiful, but very little snow, and none in the forecast.  However, Christmas activities about, and it’s just been fun running from one to another.  I wouldn’t begin to list them all, but believe me, you can find something to do here in all forms.  The theatres about in live shows and of course, the movies, which are not that great to me this year.  <P>

The Aces – that’s our hockey team – are doing a smashing job this year and gathering more fans along the way.  We even had a visit from Scott Gomez, our local hero, who sits in sometimes.  However, with all of this, many of our older citizens are passing away, and this has reached me personally as I have lost several friends recently.  <P>   The stores seem to be doing a flourishing business, and downtown is a good place to avoid now, with all the parking meters taking credit cards – plain old quarters aren’t enough.  Town Square is simply beautiful with many decorated trees, and too many lights . . . yes, they can overdo, but then, it’s Christmas!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment